A Helping Hand


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Calling Uncle Bob.”

Have you ever faced a difficult situation when you had to choose between sorting it out yourself, or asking someone else for an easy fix? What did you choose — and would you make the same choice today?

Yes I have turned to “Uncle Bob” and  “Aunty Jane”  off and on. I guess it would apply both on my professional as well as personal fronts.

I have always believed that two heads are definitely better than one and if faced with a situation wherein I need help or even just a fresh perspective , I never hesitate to ask. In my profession a small mistake or inability to rise to the occasion in whatever manner can affect and even cost lives. So if I feel the patient would benefit from better expertise either in my own field  or in a related one, I never fail to ask help. I have been a teacher and member of the faculty in a Medical College –  even so, I am not averse to learning the ropes from others. With the medical field evolving as it does at breakneck speed, I strive not to be caught napping and for that I need help. Its not about an “easy fix”  – I am acutely aware that I deal with lives and at any time if I feel that the patient’s interests are best served by another opinion or another pair of hands I would never let over confidence or ego come in the way.

wpid-photogrid_1416934783161.jpg

At home, I often get stuck with new gadgets or technology related questions and the best “Uncle Bob”s are my kids. If I am stuck with an administrative problem I ask for counsel from my husband who is more experienced in such matters. 

I learn from my mother , my friends, colleagues and family.

But having said that I still have someone I turn to help so very often and that is Uncle / Aunty “Google”. the net to me is a powerhouse of knowledge if used wisely and one knows where to look. I am a member of professional and personal groups who help me grow in both these areas and make me a richer and wiser person and sometimes even a better person I would say.

Seeking and offering help are constant processes which will never stop, no matter what your age. there is always another mountain to climb and there will always be someone who has climbed it before you and so have a few words of guidance . Listen. You will only grow in stature by doing that.

Happy seeking and Learning.

2211

12 thoughts on “A Helping Hand

  1. Soul n Spirit November 25, 2014 / 11:03 pm

    Very well said and google is like Great grand uncle / aunt now for most of us. I usually go by my own instinct and believe it is me who ultimately make the things work for me though advises are most welcome. Trials and tests work for me:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aruna @RipplesnReflections November 25, 2014 / 11:35 pm

      I agree with you Rashmi – I am fiercely independent and am not easily “helped” either and often I work best alone ….. but in situations which necessitate it I never hesitate … To each his / her own …..whatever works best for you is the best for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. trablog November 25, 2014 / 11:15 pm

    A big salute to all doctors out there. Including yourself 🙂 You people are amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aruna @RipplesnReflections November 25, 2014 / 11:38 pm

      Thanks a ton, Jithin! That felt good! 🙂 We are not always amazing – we are humans but the profession is amazing in what it gives me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • trablog November 25, 2014 / 11:40 pm

        I am glad to know that. And You are welcome 🙂

        Like

  3. andy1076 November 25, 2014 / 11:19 pm

    I am reminded of my elementary school teacher back in Chile, if you don’t know something or need help with anything never be afraid to ask 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aruna @RipplesnReflections November 25, 2014 / 11:40 pm

      Thanks Andy …. and I agree with your teacher … I just edited the post with a quote that did not upload earlier….which says precisely that … thanks for commenting ……… 🙂

      Like

  4. maddmombetty November 26, 2014 / 1:13 am

    My mom used to say that it’s not as important to know the right answer as it is to know where to find the right answer. She was an RN, almost had her PhD when she died. She would have liked your post.I know I do! 🙂

    Like

  5. lifeconfusions November 27, 2014 / 12:55 am

    A very inspiring post, especially because I was just reading about the Doctor patient relationship in Behavioral sciences, which was all about what’s best in Patient’s interest and how to be more human than just doctors. Hats off to you for this great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.